Finish Strong – Dustpan Ad

Target Audience: Single men age 55-64 with an associate’s degree and a steady job. They aren’t high income earners, but they want quality products. I wanted to appeal to the idea that dustpans are masculine and tough. They are what you use at the end of all your projects. I chose the upright dustpan so it’s easier to use for older men. It’s jumbo sized and heavy duty because it implies strength and power.

Design Decisions: The DeWalt brand is very strong and masculine and uses the yellow and black. The background image of the warehouse floor is black and white so that it keeps with the color scheme and recedes into the background. I wanted the dustpan to stand out out on the background. The checkerboard suggests the finish line. The sawdust suggests that something was “finished”. In the first draft the dustpan was empty, but I felt like the message was stronger to have the dustpan full, so I added the saw dust. The original draft’s background seemed to be in a garage, but this final version has lumber in the background so it makes sense that the dustpan would be full of sawdust.

Blog Ad

Social Media Ad

Photos Used

I took this picture of the product at Home Depot:


I took this picture of the floor at Home Depot:


I purchased this photo from 123 rf:


I drew the checkerboard with Illustrator:

Logo

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑